Indian Men’s Hockey Team begins Asian Games campaign with dominant 16-0 win over Uzbekistan -
Indian Team goes down 3-4 against Germany in a thrilling game at the FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup 2023. Eight Indian Boxers confirm medals as they cruise into the semifinals at IBA Junior World Boxing Championships 2023. Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul and Suryakumar will lead In Test, ODI and T20I formats. India’s squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna. India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar. India’s squad for 3 ODIs: KL Rahul (C)(wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.. Local lad Sunhit Bishnoi holds the clubhouse lead on day two of Kapil Dev Grant Thornton Invitational 2023. 20 TEAMS FINALIZED FOR ICC MEN’S T20 WORLD CUP 2024 AS UGANDA QUALIFY FOR THE FIRST TIME. महिला क्रिकेट की कहानी नए सिरे से लिखने वाली एक ऐतिहासिक डॉक्यूमेंट्री बनाने के लिए यूपी वॉरियर्स ने वैश्विक दूरदर्शी रचनात्मक लोगों के साथ हाथ मिलाया। Indian Olympic Association to conduct a seminar in coordination with the National Anti-Doping Agency prior to the 2024 Paris Olympic Games. Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team secures 12-0 win against Canada. BCCI announces extension of contract for Head Coach Rahul Dravid. Combined power of cricket and golf: Kapil Dev-Grant Thornton Invitational 2023 hits the fairways. Focus of National Games is to attract young talent: PT Usha. It is because of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision, Khelo India has become a movement: Anurag Thakur. Khelo India Para Games Logo, Mascot, Anthem and Jersey launched. Seher wins 16th and final leg of Hero WPGT, as Sneha wins Order of Merit. Gauri Monga rules the greens at the 13th DGC Ladies Amateur Open Golf Championship 2023. Delhi will host first-ever Khelo India Para Games from 10 to 17 December . MARLON SAMUELS BANNED FOR SIX YEARS UNDER ANTI-CORRUPTION CODE. Sneha and Neha in a tight battle despite a rainy start in the 16th Leg of Hero WPGT. National Billiards & Snooker Championships gets underway in Chennai. DGC Ladies Amateur Open Golf Championship 2023, presented by USHA, begins today.

Indian Men’s Hockey Team begins Asian Games campaign with dominant 16-0 win over Uzbekistan

Share us on

Varun Kumar, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Mandeep Singh, Abhishek, Sukhjeet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Shamsher Singh, and Sanjay scored goals for India in the match

Khel Today Bureau 

Hangzhou: Indian Men’s Hockey Team on Sunday started their campaign at the 19th Asian Games Hangzhou 2022 with a massive 16-0 win over Uzbekistan in Pool A match. Varun Kumar (12′, 36′, 50′, 52′) scored four goals, while Lalit Kumar Upadhyay (7′, 24′, 53′), and Mandeep Singh (18′, 27′, 28′) scored hat-tricks each. Sukhjeet Singh (37′, 42′) scored a brace, while Abhishek (17′), Amit Rohidas (38′), Shamsher Singh (43′), and Sanjay (57′) scored a goal each for India.

India began on the front foot straightaway building dangerous moves from the right flank to trouble Uzbekistan’s defence. With Uzbeks defending in numbers, India started searching for gaps to penetrate the circle. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay (7′) broke the resistance with a reverse hit into the back of the nets and put India ahead. With long passes from Jarmanpreet Singh, India kept launching counter-attacks, and Varun Kumar (12′) struck the nets from a Penalty Corner to give India a 2-0 lead at the end of the first quarter.

Early in the second quarter, Mandeep Singh dribbled past Uzbek defenders and passed the ball to Abhishek (17′) in the circle, who spun and struck the ball into the nets to extend India’s lead to 3-0. In the next minute, Mandeep Singh (18′) found himself in a 1v1 situation against Uzbekistan goalkeeper and easily put the ball into the nets to make it 4-0. A quick start from a long corner led to Lalit (24′) scoring his second goal of the match with another reverse hit. Late in the second quarter, Mandeep (27′, 28′) tapped the ball into the nets after a pass from Gurjant Singh and completed his hat-trick a minute later after getting another goal from a Penalty Corner. India reached halftime with a massive 7-0 lead.

Relentless India continued to build pressure at the start of the second half. Varun (36′) struck his second goal of the match from a penalty stroke and India went ahead 8-0 lead. Uzbekistan left Sukhjeet Singh (37′) unmarked, who picked up a pass from Lalit and converted it into another goal to make it 9-0. A minute later, Amit Rohidas (38′) struck a powerful hit into the nets from a penalty corner and India went up 10-0. Abhishek picked up an aerial pass inside the circle and passed it to Sukhjeet (42′) who deflected it into the nets. A minute later, Shamsher Singh (43′) earned his first goal of the match in a similar fashion, making it 12-0 for India by the end of the third quarter.

Uzbekistan sat deep inside their own half at the start of the final quarter to prevent any more goals. India continued their dominance in attack and Varun (50′, 52′) converted back-to-back penalty corners to make it 14-0. The goal-fest continued with Lalit (53′) adding another goal to his name from a close distance and India went 15-0 up. A late Penalty Corner was converted by Sanjay (57′), who scored his first goal of the match, and India won the encounter 16-0.

Indian Men’s Hockey Team will next face off against Singapore on Tuesday, September 26th, 2023 at 0630 hrs IST.

Schedule of the Indian Men’s Hockey Team:

On 26th September 2023, India Vs Singapore at 0630 hrs IST

On 28th September 2023, India Vs Japan at 1815 hrs IST

On 30th September 2023, India Vs Pakistan at 1815 hrs IST

On 2nd October 2023, India Vs Bangladesh at 1315 hrs IST

The matches will be broadcast live on Sony Sports Network and live stream on Sony Liv.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.