Avinash Sable set men’s 3000m Steeplechase National Record in Indian Grand Prix 2 Athletics -
ICC MEN’S T20 WORLD CUP 2022 PRIZE POT ANNOUNCED.Varun Parikh clinches maiden title of Kapil Dev – Grant Thornton Invitational 2022 presented by DLF.HARMANPREET KAUR LEADS INDIAN CHARGE IN MRF TYRES ICC WOMEN’S ODI PLAYER RANKINGS.FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023: Argentina-South Africa to open the show on January 13!.Leading Indian professionals excited to tee it up at inaugural Kapil Dev – Grant Thornton Invitational presented by DLF from Tuesday. It’ll be fun playing alongside Jyoti who I grew up watching and Yuvraj who has been in tremendous form of late: Gaganjeet Bhullar.INBL 5×5 Season-1: 6 Teams, 3 Rounds, 20 Cities, 9,000+ Players will fight for Prize Money of over Rs 50 lakhs from October 12, 2022 to January 15, 2023.पूर्व भारतीय हॉकी कप्तान दिलीप तिर्की बने हॉकी इंडिया के अध्यक्ष. 20 Teams, 400 Golfers,1 Mentor And 1 Coach Will Lock Horns During 336 Matches Over 13 Days In ‘LLOYD DGC LEAGUE 2022’ From September 29.MANDHANA MAKES HUGE GAINS IN MRF TYRES ICC WOMEN’S PLAYER RANKINGS. 126 golfers will ‘PUT’ for prize money of INR 1crore in Kapil Dev – Grant Thornton Invitational, presented by DLF from September 27 at Gurugram Sportspersons representing their respective Police forces will compete each other but tomorrow they will play for India, spectators should praise all of them: Anurag Singh Thakur. Sports Minister Anurag Singh Thakur inaugurated 7th All India Police Judo Cluster on Monday.

Avinash Sable set men’s 3000m Steeplechase National Record in Indian Grand Prix 2 Athletics

Share us on

Khel Today Bureau

Thiruvananthapuram: Avinash Sable set a men’s 3000m Steeplechase National Record to headline a string of good performances in the Indian Grand Prix 2 Athletics competition at the Chandrasekharan Nair Police Stadium here today. Quartermiler Priya H Mohan and Discus thrower Kamalpreet Kaur shared top honours in the women’s events. 

Competing for the first time since the Olympic Games in Tokyo last year, a languid Avinash Sable (Maharashhra) stayed on the heels of Balkishan (Haryana) who set a good pace from the start. The Olympian shifted gears with three laps to go and came home in 8:16.21, shaving off 1.91 seconds from his own record set in Tokyo.

Trailing Kerala team-mate Abdulla Aboobacker until the midway stage of the men’s Triple Jump competition Eldhose Paul came up with a personal best effort of 16.95m to claim gold. In fact, each of his last three efforts – 16.74, 16.95 and 16.76 – was good enough to get him the title ahead of Abdulla Aboobacker’s best of 16.70.

Kamalpreet Kaur had two throws past the 60m mark, with her sixth and final effort producing the best result for her. Having got to 60.15m on her third attempt, the winning distance of 61.39m will give the confidence, going into a busy year in which the World Championships, Commonwealth Games and Asian Games dot the calendar.

There seems to be no stopping Priya H Mohan rise as the best women’s 400m sprinter. She beat the vastly experienced MR Poovamma to second place yet again. Jisna Mathew strained her every sinew to claim the bronze medal on a day when Karnataka’s NS Inchara dipped home inside 54 seconds for the first time and beat VK Vismaya in the process.

Priya Mohan clocked a personal best time of 52.37 seconds, a 0.21-second improvement over her previous best secured in the Inter-University Championships in Bhubaneshwar last month. Poovamma made the most of the younger runner’s pace and came up with her fastest time since winning a race in Bydgoszcz in Poland in 52.31 seconds on June 24, 2016.

The men’s quarter-mile produced some sparks as well with 21-year-old Rajesh Ramesh (Tamil Nadu) stunning Kerala’s Noah Nirmal Tom with a burst of speed on the home stretch. Rajesh Ramesh finished in a personal best time of 46.09 seconds, improving on the 46.35 that he clocked in finishing third in the Indian Grand Prix 1 on March 13.

The results:


100m (collated from A & B races): 1. Tamil Arasu (Tamil Nadu) 10.66 seconds; 2. Aswin KP (Kerala) 10.70; 3. Ritik Malik (Delhi) 10.78.

400m (collated from A, B & C races): 1. Rajesh Ramesh (Tamil Nadu) 46.09 seconds; 2. Noah Nirmal Tom (Kerala) 46.19; 3. Muhammed Ajmal (Kerala) 46.29.

800m (collated from A & B races): 1. Ankesh Chaudhary (Himachal Pradesh) 1:48.27; 2. Mohammed Afsal (Kerala) 1:48.65; 3. Krishan Kumar (Haryana) 1:48.66.

3000m Steeplechase: 1. Avinash Sable (Maharashtra) 8:16.21 (New National Record. Old: 8:18.12, July 30, 2021, Tokyo); 2. Shankar Lal Swami (Haryana) 8:36.37; 3. Atul Poonia (Rajasthan) 8:53.15.

400m Hurdles: 1. T Santhosh Kumar (Tamil Nadu) 50.15 seconds; 2. MP Jabir (Kerala) 50.40; 3. Dhaval Mahesh Utekar (Gujarat) 51.37.

Triple Jump: 1. Eldhose Paul (Kerala) 16.95m; 2. Abdulla Aboobacker (Kerala) 16.70; 3. Gaily Venister Devasahayam (Tamil Nadu) 16.09.

Shot Put: 1. Aniket (Uttarakhand) 17.42m; 2. Adhish Ghildiyal (Uttarakhand) 16.48; 3. Prajwal Shetty (Karnataka) 14.42.

Discus Throw: 1. Prashant Malik (Haryana) 54.18m; 2. Arjun (Delhi) 51.37; 3. Sachin Suhag (Haryana) 49.18.


100m: 1. NS Simi (Karnataka) 11.79 seconds; 2. AT Daneshwari (Karnataka) 11.83; 3. PD Anjali (Kerala) 11.87.

400m: 1. Priya H Mohan (Karnataka) 52.37 seconds; 2. MR Poovamma (Karnataka) 52.44; 3. Jisna Mathew (Kerala) 53.40.

800m: 1. EB Arptitha (Karnataka) 2:11.44; 2. Priscilla Daniel (Kerala) 2;12.47; 3. Stephy Sara Koshy (Kerala) 2:13.49.

3000m Steeplechase: 1. Parul Chaudhary (Uttar Pradesh) 9:38.29; 2. G Maheshwari (Telangana) 10:52.49; 3. 

400m Hurdles: 1. Anu Raghavan (Kerala) 58.53 seconds; 2. R Vithya Ramaraj (Tamil Nadu) 58.55; 3. Pragyan Prasanti Sahi (Odisha) 59.22.

Triple Jump: 1. B Aishwarya (Karnataka) 13.94m; 2. Karthika Gothandapani (Tamil Nadu) 13.08.

Shot Put: 1. Ramneet Kaur (Uttarakhand) 13.86m; 2. Shilpa (Karnataka) 11.93.

Discus Throw: 1. Kamalpreet Kaur (Punjab) 61.39m; 2. Nidhi Rani (Haryana) 50.96; 3. Sunita (Haryana) 47.36.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.