MYAS funds 28 Indian Athletes for the World Athletics Championship, Budapest; 15 newcomers’ part of the Indian Team -

MYAS funds 28 Indian Athletes for the World Athletics Championship, Budapest; 15 newcomers’ part of the Indian Team

Share us on

Neeraj Chopra with his coach.

Khel Today Bureau 

New Delhi:Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports (MYAS) is funding the participation of the Indian contingent for the upcoming World Athletics Championships, that will be held in Budapest, Hungary from 19th August 2023 onwards. A 42-member contingent, including coaches and support staff, are heading for the world event which will have the best of the best athletes from across the world competing.

In the previous edition, a total of 6 individuals reached the finals at the World Championships in 2022 with 3 of them making it to TOP 8 Finishes & Neeraj returning with a historic silver medal. This was India’s best performance in any edition of the World Athletics Championships.

The funding will cover the team’s training cost, plus boarding/Lodging costs, airfare, visa costs and Out of Pocket Allowance (OPA) among other expenditures.

Out of 28 competing athletes, 13 are Target Olympic Podium Scheme (TOPS) Athletes and 15 athletes would be competing at the World Championships for the very first time. Former U 20 World Athletics Championships Silver Medalist, Shaili Singh is the youngest member of the contingent. The 19-year-old would be competing in her first senior World Championships this year.

28 Athletes who will be competing at the event are –

1 Jyothi Yarraji – 1OOm Hurdles – TOPS Athlete
2 Parul Chaudhary – 3000m SC
3 Shaili Singh – Long Jump – TOPS Athlete
4 Annu Rani – Javelin Throw – TOPS Athlete
5 Bhawna Jat – Race Walk
6 Krishan Kumar – 800m
7 Ajay Kumar Saroj -1500m
8 Santhosh Kumar Tamilarnsan – 400m Hurdles
9 Avinash Mukund Sable – 3000m SC – TOPS Athlete
10 Sarvesh Anil Kushare – High Jump
11 Jeswin Aldrin -Long Jump – TOPS Athlete
12 M Sreeshankar – Long Jump – TOPS Athlete
13 Praveen Chithravel – Triple Jump – TOPS Athlete
14 Abdulla Aboobacker – Triple Jump – TOPS Athlete
15 Eldhose Paul – Triple Jump – TOPS Athlete
16 Neeraj Chopra – Javelin Throw – TOPS Athlete
17 D.P Manu – Javelin Throw – TOPS Athlete
18 Kishore Kumar Jena – Javelin Throw
19 Akashdeep Singh – Race Walk – TOPS Athlete
20 Vikash Singh – Race Walk
21 Paramjeet Singh – Race Walk – TOPS Athlete
22 Ram Baboo – Race Walk
23 Amoj Jacob – 4 x 400m Relay
24 Muhammed Ajmal – 4 x 400m Relay
25 Muhammed Anas – 4 x 400m Relay
26 Rajesh Ramesh – 4 x 400m Relay
27 Anil Rajalingam – 4 x 400m Relay
28 Mijo Chacko Kurian – 4 x 400m Relay.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.