The Deaf International Cricket Council inaugurates T20 Champions Trophy 2022 Tournament -

The Deaf International Cricket Council inaugurates T20 Champions Trophy 2022 Tournament

Share us on

Khel Today Bureau

 UAE: The Deaf International Cricket Council (DICC), today inaugurated the first-ever T20 Champions Trophy 2022 (UAE) at Malek Stadium Ajman, UAE. The tournament was inaugurated by board members of DICC and will run for nine days, during which 4 teams will compete against each other for the coveted debut trophy of the tournament. The tournament is the first to be held for Deaf International Cricket since the pandemic struck in 2020. The nine-day tournament is scheduled to encourage the specially-abled cricketers across India.

In the ceremony, players were told about the schedule and rules for the practice session. In the practice session, each team will get 2 net fields for practice and 2 outfields for practice. The DICC is following all the norms of ICC (International Cricket Council) and the fixture method for arranging participating teams in a process that follows the IPL.

On the occasionSumit Jain, President Indian Deaf Cricket Association (IDCA) said, “The DICC T20 Champions Trophy is a wonderful platform for promoting sports among the specially-abled individuals. We wish all of the teams and players the best of luck throughout the championship and hope to arrange many more in the future”.

The Four Teams – Deaf cricket team of India, Deaf cricket team of Australia, Deaf cricket team of Bangladesh, and Deaf cricket team of South Africa. 

The tournament commenced after the opening ceremony (i.e. 4th October 2022) and will continue till the finals being played on 9th October 2021.

Times Schedule of the Programs


S. No. Date Team Margin Team Ground Time (IST)
1. Monday, Oct. 3, 2022 Practice
2. Tue, Oct. 4, 2022 India V/s Bangladesh Malek 4:30 PM
3. Wed, Oct. 5, 2022 REST DAY
4. Thu, Oct. 6, 2022 India V/s Australia Malek 12:00 PM
5. Fri, Oct. 7, 2022 India V/s South Africa Malek 12:00 PM
6. Sat, Oct. 8, 2022 Qualifier 1 Malek 12:00 PM
7. Sat, Oct. 8, 2022 Eliminator Malek 12:00 PM
8. Sun, Oct. 9, 202 Qualifier 2 Malek 12:00 PM
10. Sun, Oct. 9, 2022 Final Malek 4:30 PM


About IDCA

Indian Deaf Cricket Association is a National Governing Body recognized by the Deaf International Cricket Council (Deaf ICC) to promote and organize cricket for the deaf in India and has 15 state-level associations and over 20,000 players affiliated at various domestic level tournaments in India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.