Haryana becomes first champion -
President of India unveils the Durand Cup trophies and Flags Off the Trophy Tour for the 133rd edition of the prestigious tournament. Gautam Gambhir appointed as Head Coach – Team India (Senior Men). I am honoured and excited to take on the role of Head Coach for Team India: Gambhir. India’s Para Athletes Ready to Shine at Paris Paralympics. BPCL PARTNERS WITH INDIAN OLYMPIC ASSOCIATION AS PRINCIPAL SPONSOR FROM PARIS 2024 TO LOS ANGELES 2028. Paris bound Indian athletes buoyant at Indian Olympic Association ceremonial send-off. Sports Minister Dr. Mansukh Mandaviya visits NIS Patiala and encourages Paris Olympic bound athletes. Sports Minister unveils new AFI logo and meets Olympics-bound athletes in Panchkula. Indian Men’s Hockey Team for Paris 2024 Olympics: Goalkeepers: 1.    Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran Defenders: 2.    Jarmanpreet Singh 3.    Amit Rohidas 4.    Harmanpreet Singh 5.    Sumit 6.    Sanjay Midfielders: 7.    Rajkumar Pal 8.    Shamsher Singh 9.    Manpreet Singh 10.   Hardik Singh 11.   Vivek Sagar Prasad Forwards: 12.   Abhishek 13.   Sukhjeet Singh 14.   Lalit Kumar Upadhyay 15.   Mandeep Singh 16.   Gurjant Singh Alternate Athletes: 17.   Nilakanta Sharma 18.   Jugraj Singh 19.   Krishan Bahadur Pathak. Indian cricket legend Kapil Dev takes over as President of Professional Golf Tour of India. Indian Poker Player Santhosh Suvarna makes history, winning his second World Series of Poker bracelet and INR 45+ crore. JSW Group Opens Exhibition in Paris to Commemorate 100 years of India at the Olympic Games. Ꮪhubman Gill to lead India in Zimbabwe. India will visit Harare in the first week of July to participate in a 5-match T20I series against the hosts. India’s squad for T20I series against Zimbabwe: Ꮪhubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande. Dronacharya Bhupender Dhawan’s student Ritesh Dogra creates history by winning the title of Best Lifter in the IPL European Powerlifting Championship 2024. 44th edition of ‘V.K. Pahuja Annual Swimming Statistical Bulletin’ released. Any T20 World Cup Match Can Change in an Instant Says India Legend and World Cup Ambassador Yuvraj Singh.

Haryana becomes first champion

Share us on

Khelo India Para Games – a celebration of human passion and spirit says Anurag Thakur

Haryana bagged a total of 105 medals, while Uttar Pradesh finished second and Tamil Nadu third

Khel Today Bureau 

New Delhi: Curtains came down on the first-ever Khelo India Para Games after a week-long celebrations of human spirit and inclusivity. In the games that had 173 gold medals up for grabs, Haryana bagged top honours with a total of 105 medals including 40 gold, 39 silver and 26 bronze medals.Finishing second was Uttar Pradesh, with a total of 62 medals, including 25 gold, 23 silver and 14 bronze.

Tamil Nadu finished third with 20 gold, 8 silver and 14 bronze medals. While the Games witnessed star para athletes who were fresh from their Asian Para Games success in Hangzhou, China. The likes of armless archer Sheetal Devi, discus thrower Yogesh Kathuniya, table tennis star Bhavina Patel, Parul Parmar, Nishad Kumar among several others, there were also some heart-warming performances by upcoming stars who defied physical limitations to finish on the podium.

Hailing the efforts of the participating, Shri Anurag Singh Thakur, Hon’ble minister of Youth Affairs and Sports and Information and Broadcasting said, “Today, under these spotlights, we honor not just medals, but the resilient spirits and untold stories that have painted this arena. The Khelo India Para Games 2023 mark a historic chapter in our sports history, where participation eclipses mere victory. As Prime Minister Narendra Modi says, ‘Kheloge toh khiloge.’ These past days have etched moments of unwavering human spirits, forging new milestones, talents emerging, records falling, and prejudices shattered. This is the new India, envisioned by the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi.”


Rajesh T of Tamil Nadu, Sandeep Dangi of Haryana, Tulika Jadhao of Maharashtra, Ashmita of Assam are all names to reckon with for their incredible grit and determination. The Games also witnessed an Asian record being bettered by Pranav Soorma of Haryana who improved his Asian Para Games gold medal-winning performance of 30.01 with an effort of 33.54 metres in club throw event. He improved the Asian record of 31.09m held by Dharambir.

Sports superstars like Mary Kom, Harbhajan Singh, Anju Bobby George, Anjum Moudgil, Manu Bhaker, Viren Rasquinha, Ajay Jadeja among others made their presence felt at the victory ceremonies to honour the efforts of the para athletes and also lauded the Government of India and Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports for introducing para games in their flagship Khelo India events.

The action on final day also saw Kerala clinch a stupendous 7-0 win against Tamil Nadu in CP football with Y Jaya Surya scoring 3 goals while 4 goals were scored by A Growth. In table tennis, In the men’s Class-4 category, Sumit Sehgal of Haryana defeated Ramesh Chaudhary of Gujarat 3-0 (11-8, 11-7, 11-8) in the final to clinch gold medal.

Over 1450 para athletes from 32 states and Union Territories participated in the prestigious Khelo India Para Games which saw events in seven disciplines.

Other scores:

Gajanan Parmar (MP) beat Shashidhar Kulkarni (KNT) 3-1 (11-9, 11-8, 7-11, 13-11) in the Men’s Class-8 category.

Raj Aravindan Alagar (TN) beat Pawan Kumar Sharma (UP) 3-0 (11-2, 11-7, 11-7) in the Men’s Class-5 category

Poonam (CHD) beat BhavikaKukadiya (GUJ) 3-1 (11-6, 7-11, 11-7, 11-5) in the Women’s Class-6 category

Baby Sahana (TN) beat PruthviBarve (MHR) 3-0 (11-3, 11-6, 11-3) in the Women’s Class 9-10 category

Prachi Pandey (UP) beat Dhwani Shah (GUJ) 3-0 (11-3, 11-6, 11-2) in the Women’s Class 7 category

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.