Kit, Official Ball and Trophies of 61st Subroto Cup Unveiled -
India’s Abhay Singh and Amina Orfi of Egypt win Squash crown. Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports simplifies the procedure for applying under the Cash Awards Scheme for the medal winners in international sports events.Babita Phogat becomes 6th member of the Oversight Committee panel formed to probe allegations against WFI.Millet Meal at Khelo India Youth Games in the presence of CM of Madhya Pradesh, Union Sports Minister, Nikhat Zareen and Avinash Sable.Grand opening ceremony to usher in Khelo India Youth Games 2022 Madhya Pradesh.The BCCI has announced a cash reward of INR 5 Crore for the victorious India U-19 team and members of the support staff. .India crowned first-ever ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World champions.Special App launched to enhance athlete experience at KIYG 2022.TOPS Development athletes set for competition in Khelo India Youth Games Madhya Pradesh.Government of India approves participation of Wrestlers for Ranking Series Zagreb Open.Water Sports to debut at the Khelo India Youth Games 2022 Madhya Pradesh. Adani Sportsline Acquires Franchise In the Inaugural Women’s Premier League. AFC General Secretary Datuk Seri Windsor John pledges support towards Vision 2047.Suryakumar Yadav claims ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year award, Renuka Singh named Emerging Cricketer of the Year.Sports Ministry holds its first Mission Olympic Cell (MOC) meeting outside Delhi; discuss key agenda points.WFI President Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh will step aside from the day- to- day functioning, An Oversight Committewill enquire into the allegations made by prominent sportspersons of Sexual Misconduct, Financial Irregularities and Administrative lapses.

Kit, Official Ball and Trophies of 61st Subroto Cup Unveiled

Share us on


(L-R) – Air Commodore Sunil Tomar Chairman Organising Committee, Mr. Bhaichung Bhutia, former Indian Football Captain, Air Marshal K Anantharaman VSM, Air Officer-in-Charge Administration & Vice Chairman SMSES, Air Marshal RK Anand DG(Adm) & Member SMSES.

Khel Today Bureau 

New Delhi: The Subroto Mukherjee Sports Education Society (SMSES), the organisers of the 61st edition of the Subroto Cup International Football Tournament, today unveiled the kit, official ball and the tournament Trophy at an official curtain-raiser at the Akash Air Force Officer’s Mess, here in the heart of the national capital. Air Marshal K Anantharaman VSM, Air Officer-in-Charge Administration and Vice Chairman, SMSES, graced the occasion as Chief Guest while former Indian football captain Mr. Bhaichung Bhutia, was the Guest of Honour. Air Marshal RK Anand Directorate General (Administration) & Member Subroto Society were also present during the occasion.

The Subroto Cup, an annual schools football tournament first started in 1960 by the first India Air Force Chief, Air Marshal Subroto Mukerjee, will be resuming after a pandemic induced break of two years. This year a total of 92 schools representing 25 States and Union Territories of India have qualified across the three categories and a team from Bangladesh will also be participating.

Speaking on the occasion, Air Marshal K Anantharaman, VSM, Air Officer-in-Charge Administration and Vice Chairman SMSES said, “We are delighted to be back with the Subroto Cup which is the most prestigious inter-school tournament in the country. This tournament will provide a platform for the kids to pursue a professional career in football and SMSES along with Indian Air Force will ensure that no stone is left unturned in the smooth conduct of the tournament.”

Former Indian captain and Guest of Honour of the event, Mr Bhaichung Bhutia commented, “I had started my football journey by playing in the Subroto Cup and it is an honour for me to be invited as the Guest of Honour for the same tournament. The kids will receive very good exposure by competing against some of the top school teams in the country and I hope that many future Indian players come out from this tournament.”

The tournament will be conducted in three categories beginning with the Sub Junior Boys (Under 14) from September 6-15, 2022, followed by the Junior Girls (Under 17) from September 19-28, 2022 and finally the Junior Boys (Under 17) starting October 3, 2022, with the finals slated for October 13, 2022, the same day as the closing ceremony of the event.

Mr. M S Rawat of All India Radio was honoured by the organisers.

The Opening Ceremony and all the finals will be telecast LIVE on DD Sports. A total prize money in excess of INR 23,00,000 has been set aside across the three categories for the winners and the runners-up. This includes a winning prize of INR 3,50,000 for the Junior Boys and Junior Girls as well as INR 2,50,000 for the Sub Junior Boys winning team.


Other cash prizes include those for the semi-finalists, quarter finalists, Fair Play, Best Player, Best Goalkeeper, Best Coach and Best School.

Scholarship for 75 Players

Additionally, a selection committee consisting of eminent footballers will select 25 outstanding players in each category for awarding of scholarships. All the players selected will be awarded a scholarship (one time grant) of INR 25,000/- in the Junior Boys and Junior Girls categories and INR 15,000/- for the Sub-Junior Boys category.

The Subroto Cup 2022 will be held in four different venues this year namely Dr. BR Ambedkar Stadium (Delhi Gate), Tejas Football Ground (Race Course), Subroto Park and Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium.


Opening Ceremony – 06 Sep 2022

Final Sub-Junior Boys (U-14) – 15 Sep 2022

Final Junior Girls (U-17) – 28 Sep 2022

Closing Ceremony & Final Junior Boys (U-17) – 13 Oct 2022



Subroto Cup Football Tournament is a prestigious international inter-school football tournament that is held annually in New Delhi, India. Named after the Indian Air Force Air Marshal Subroto Mukerjee, it is an annual event that began in 1960. Students from different countries across Asia participate in this tournament, making it one of the more noteworthy school-level football competitions.

Subroto Mukerjee conceived the idea in 1958 when he was the Chief of the Air Staff. Subroto Mukerjee Sports Education Society was formed in 1960 after his untimely death in Tokyo. The first tournament was held in 1960, with participation of about 50 school teams. Since 1998, the tournament has been played in two age groups, sub-Junior (under 14 years) and Junior (under 17 years). Madhyamgram High School, West Bengal has the record for winning this tournament (U17) the most number of times (7) which includes a hat trick of titles from 1981 – 1983.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.