Avani Prashanth creates history by winning Queen Siriki Cup, Indian team finishes best – ever in second place -
LIGHTS, ACTION, LE PANGA: HISTORIC PRO KABADDI LEAGUE SEASON 10 KICKS OFF IN GRAND STYLE ON A CRUISE. Indian Team goes down 3-4 against Germany in a thrilling game at the FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup 2023. Eight Indian Boxers confirm medals as they cruise into the semifinals at IBA Junior World Boxing Championships 2023. Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul and Suryakumar will lead In Test, ODI and T20I formats. India’s squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna. India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar. India’s squad for 3 ODIs: KL Rahul (C)(wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.. Local lad Sunhit Bishnoi holds the clubhouse lead on day two of Kapil Dev Grant Thornton Invitational 2023. 20 TEAMS FINALIZED FOR ICC MEN’S T20 WORLD CUP 2024 AS UGANDA QUALIFY FOR THE FIRST TIME. महिला क्रिकेट की कहानी नए सिरे से लिखने वाली एक ऐतिहासिक डॉक्यूमेंट्री बनाने के लिए यूपी वॉरियर्स ने वैश्विक दूरदर्शी रचनात्मक लोगों के साथ हाथ मिलाया। Indian Olympic Association to conduct a seminar in coordination with the National Anti-Doping Agency prior to the 2024 Paris Olympic Games. Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team secures 12-0 win against Canada. BCCI announces extension of contract for Head Coach Rahul Dravid. Combined power of cricket and golf: Kapil Dev-Grant Thornton Invitational 2023 hits the fairways. Focus of National Games is to attract young talent: PT Usha. It is because of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision, Khelo India has become a movement: Anurag Thakur. Khelo India Para Games Logo, Mascot, Anthem and Jersey launched. Seher wins 16th and final leg of Hero WPGT, as Sneha wins Order of Merit. Gauri Monga rules the greens at the 13th DGC Ladies Amateur Open Golf Championship 2023. Delhi will host first-ever Khelo India Para Games from 10 to 17 December . MARLON SAMUELS BANNED FOR SIX YEARS UNDER ANTI-CORRUPTION CODE. Sneha and Neha in a tight battle despite a rainy start in the 16th Leg of Hero WPGT. National Billiards & Snooker Championships gets underway in Chennai. DGC Ladies Amateur Open Golf Championship 2023, presented by USHA, begins today.

Avani Prashanth creates history by winning Queen Siriki Cup, Indian team finishes best – ever in second place

Share us on

Khel Today Bureau 

Manila: Avani Prashanth created history by becoming the first Indian winner of the 43rd Queen Sirikit Cup in the Philippines on Friday.

The Bangalore teenager’s sterling score also carried the Indian team to a never-before second place in the prestigious competition for the Asia-Pacific region.

Avani returned a four-day aggregate of 16-under 272 (68-66-70-68), a record-breaking 10 shots ahead of second placed New Zealander Fiona Xu (six-under 282).

Rianne Mikhaela Malixi (68-73-68-74) of the Philippines and Korea’s Hyunjo Yoo (70-71-71-71) finished tied for third place on five-under 283 at the Manila Southwoods Golf and Country Club.

Speaking from Manila, Avani said, “I feel great. It’s been a long-awaited win and I’m excited for what the rest of the year holds.

“It’s a little frustrating that I won’t be going to Augusta this year, but I’ll hope to make it there in 2024.

“I’m just happy to get this win and I hope I can carry this form into the WAAP (Women’s Asia Pacific Amateur Championship).”

The 16-year-old, who is 97th on the World Amateur Golf Rankings  either led or held a share of top spot all the way and closed out her blazing run in Manila appropriately with a birdie.

Thanks to her scores, India rode to a first silver medal in the regional amateur championship with team-mates Vidhatri Urs and Nishna Patel making up the squad.

While Mysore-based Vidhatri (74-77-72-74) finished tied for 19th Nishna was further down the order in shared 30th place with rounds of 80, 78, 74 and 75.

India were second behind the powerful Koreans who needed all their firepower to edge out the challengers with a 12-under 564 total.

India aggregated seven-under 571, while Japan were third a further four shots behind.

The field at Manila included reigning WAAP champion Tiffany Huang Ting-hsuan of Taiwan, world fifth ranked Japanese Yuna Araki, 15th ranked Mizuki Hashimoto of Japan and Korean Minsol Kim, world ranked 16th.

On Thursday, a late rally helped keep the Koreans in the race for top spot with the two best cards of 71 and 73 just two shots ahead of India.

“My putter was cold to start and it was an exhausting first eight holes,”

“I’m loving the course and the wide fairways,” Avani told the event website after her seond day heroics. “I’m feeling confident and am looking forward to the next two days here.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.