Gritty Viktor Hovland wins Memorial in a play-off -
Indian Team goes down 3-4 against Germany in a thrilling game at the FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup 2023. Eight Indian Boxers confirm medals as they cruise into the semifinals at IBA Junior World Boxing Championships 2023. Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul and Suryakumar will lead In Test, ODI and T20I formats. India’s squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna. India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar. India’s squad for 3 ODIs: KL Rahul (C)(wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.. Local lad Sunhit Bishnoi holds the clubhouse lead on day two of Kapil Dev Grant Thornton Invitational 2023. 20 TEAMS FINALIZED FOR ICC MEN’S T20 WORLD CUP 2024 AS UGANDA QUALIFY FOR THE FIRST TIME. महिला क्रिकेट की कहानी नए सिरे से लिखने वाली एक ऐतिहासिक डॉक्यूमेंट्री बनाने के लिए यूपी वॉरियर्स ने वैश्विक दूरदर्शी रचनात्मक लोगों के साथ हाथ मिलाया। Indian Olympic Association to conduct a seminar in coordination with the National Anti-Doping Agency prior to the 2024 Paris Olympic Games. Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team secures 12-0 win against Canada. BCCI announces extension of contract for Head Coach Rahul Dravid. Combined power of cricket and golf: Kapil Dev-Grant Thornton Invitational 2023 hits the fairways. Focus of National Games is to attract young talent: PT Usha. It is because of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision, Khelo India has become a movement: Anurag Thakur. Khelo India Para Games Logo, Mascot, Anthem and Jersey launched. Seher wins 16th and final leg of Hero WPGT, as Sneha wins Order of Merit. Gauri Monga rules the greens at the 13th DGC Ladies Amateur Open Golf Championship 2023. Delhi will host first-ever Khelo India Para Games from 10 to 17 December . MARLON SAMUELS BANNED FOR SIX YEARS UNDER ANTI-CORRUPTION CODE. Sneha and Neha in a tight battle despite a rainy start in the 16th Leg of Hero WPGT. National Billiards & Snooker Championships gets underway in Chennai. DGC Ladies Amateur Open Golf Championship 2023, presented by USHA, begins today.

Gritty Viktor Hovland wins Memorial in a play-off

Share us on

Khel Today Bureau 

Dublin, Ohio, US: Viktor Hovland produced some amazing clutch putts at Muirfield Village to win the US$20 million Memorial Tournament in a play-off with Denny McCarthy. It was his fourth official PGA Tour win, though he has two others, both at Tiger Woods’ event, the Hero World Challenge in 2021 and 2022. It was also Hovland’s first win on mainland United States.

Korean star Si Woo Kim came up short in his bid for a second PGA TOUR win of the season as he settled for solo fourth.

The 27-year-old Kim closed with a 1-over 73 as his 5-under 283 total was two back of Hovland, who defeated Denny McCarthy in a playoff.

Hovland has had some amazing finishes this season, including T-10 at Palmer Invitational, T-3 at PLAYERS, T-7 at the Masters and T-2 at the PGA Championships. He moves to fifth in world rankings.

Hovland won $3.6 million winner’s check and a handshake from host Jack Nicklaus. The Norwegian’s previous official wins were in Mexico twice and Puerto Rico.

Kim’s fifth top-10 of the 2022-23 Season, which includes a victory at the Sony Open in Hawaii in January, moved him up to sixth place on the latest FedExCup standings.

American Indian Sahith Theegala was T-58 after a final round 76.

Leading into the final round alongside Rory McIlroy (75) and David Lipsky (77), a slow start cost Kim dearly as he dropped three strokes in his opening four holes. He fought back with four birdies in his next five holes before his title run came to another hit with another bogey on the 10th hole after missing a par attempt from seven feet. A double bogey on 14th ended his hopes and he finally finished fourth. Kim won US$980,000 and took his season’s earnings to over US$4.8 million.

Japan’s Hideki Matsuyama, the tournament winner in 2014, started the final round two back but closed with a 76 to finish in a share of 16th  place on 288.

Hovland pipped McCarthy for the tournament hosted by golf legend Jack Nicklaus with a par in the first extra hole played on the par-4 18th hole.

The duo posted matching 70s to finish regulation play on 7-under 281 and one ahead of world No. 1 Scottie Scheffler, whose fine 67 catapulted him into solo third place. Hovland was over the moon after ending his two-year title drought in front of Nicklaus.

Hovland said, “It felt like a major. So it was really cool that I was able to get it done at a place like this.”

Rory McIlroy had the lead on the front nine, but he gave away far too many shots on the back — three bogeys in a row — for a 75 that took him out of the race.

Scottie Scheffler closed with a 67 and finished third and missed the playoff by one shot, after making the cut on the number. World No. 1 Scheffler has not finished worse than 12th in his 13 starts this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.