Indian-Americans Theegala and Bhatia play together at Sony Open -

Indian-Americans Theegala and Bhatia play together at Sony Open

Share us on

Khel Today Bureau 

Honolulu, Hawaii: Sahith Theegala, the runner-up at the opening event of the season, The Sentry, on the PGA TOUR last week returns this week for the Sony Open. Interestingly, the Indian-American will play alongside another Indian-American Akshay Bhatia, who finished Tied-14.

Theegala and Bhatia won their maiden PGA TOUR titles in 2023. In the first round in Sony Open, they will play with another young star, Swede Ludvig Aaberg, who also won his maiden title in 2023 and was also picked for Ryder Cup by Europe.

Chinese Taipei star C.T. Pan begins his eighth season on the PGA TOUR at this week’s Sony Open in Hawaii with one key goal in mind, which is to stay injury-free following a wretched 2023 campaign.

The 32-year-old missed five months of action following a left wrist injury which has proven to be difficult for the one-time PGA TOUR winner but he is determined to put last season behind. Pan will have 13 medical starts for the new season, and needs to secure 57.89 FedExCup points to retain his TOUR card (Top 125 status) for full-field events.

The field for the Sony Open 2024 at the Waialae Country Club in Honolulu is headlined by defending champion Si Woo Kim of Korea, last week’s The Sentry winner Chris Kirk, World No. 8 Matt Fitzpatrick, 2023 Rookie of the Year Eric Cole, Theegala, Aberg and the 2022 Sony Open champion Hideki Matsuyama.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.