‘Tee Birds’ registers mammoth 9 point win over ‘TeeM EDC’ -

‘Tee Birds’ registers mammoth 9 point win over ‘TeeM EDC’

Share us on

Former All India Amateur Golf Championship winner Gagan Verma led his team ‘Tee Birds’ to a majestic win against ‘TeeM EDC’ at the LLOYD Delhi Golf Club League – Powered by RADICO. 

 Khel Today Bureau 

New Delhi:  ‘Tee Birds’ posted  a stunning  9-point victory over ‘Teem EDC’ registering 13 points against their opponent’s 4 points at the ‘Lloyd Delhi Golf Club League – Powered by Radico’.

The play-off between ‘Tee Birds’ and ‘TeeM EDC’ was a one-sided affair with ‘Tee Birds’ winning five of the seven matches.  After ‘Tee Birds’ took the first two matches, ‘TeeM EDC’ registered a win in the third match.  Thereafter it was ‘Tee Birds’ all the way and a consolation win the seventh and final match, couldn’t prevent ‘TeeM EDC’ from losing heavily.

In the first play-off between ‘Bi Luxury’ and ‘Bliss Golfers’, ‘Bliss Golfers’ won the first match and after the two teams halved the second, ‘Bliss Golfers’ registered another win on the third match to go two up. ‘Bi Luxury’ reduced the gap with a win in the fourth match, but Bliss Golfers went on a rampage winning the fifth and sixth matches.  Bi Luxury managed a win in the seventh match but had to settle for 5.5 points as against Bliss Golfers’ tally of 10 points.

In the third play-off, ‘Dayal Opticals’ who have had a good run so far in the League, lost to ‘Baale Golf’, with the winners managing 10 points versus ‘DayalOpticals’ tally of 5.5 points.  ‘Dayal Opticals’ started well with a win in the first match but their opponents pulled back with a win the next two matches.  ‘Dayal Opticals’ pulled back with a win in the fourth match but thereafter, it was ‘Baale Golf’ all along with wins in the fifth and seventh matches and a tie in the sixth.

In the fourth and final play-off, ‘The A-Team’ beat ’24 Lions’ by 4 points.  ‘The A-Team’ started off losing the first match to ’24 Lions’. Subsequently they went on to win the next four matches on the trot.  ’24 Lions’ pulled back with wins in the last two matches but this was not good enough to hand them a win. ’The A-Team’ finished with 10 points while ’24 Lions’ managed 6 points.

With 22 teams and 12 days of action to go in the round-robin stage, the field is very open and golf lovers are in for some scintillating golf.  The League, being played at the historic par-72 Delhi Golf Club course, features 15 days of hard-fought golf and will conclude in a Grand Finale on November 4, 2023.

The tournament is being played on a ‘Four-ball better-ball Matchplay’ Format.  The League will be played in two stages – a Round Robin stage followed by a Knock-out stage. During each playoff match between two teams, each team will field 7 pairs (14 players). One pair from each team will play against a pair from the other team in a “Four-ball better-ball” Matchplay format with all the players playing off 75% of their original handicaps. The teams will get points for their wins. The 22 teams have been divided into 4 groups. After the Round Robin stage, 2 teams from each group will qualify for the Knock-out stage starting with the Quarter-finals.  The Finals will be played on November 4, 2023.


Play-off 1:

Bliss Golfers  (10 pts.) bt. Bi Luxury (5.5 pts.)

Play-off 2:

Tee Birds (13 pts.) bt. TeeM EDC (4  pts)

Play-off 3:

Baale Golf  (10 pts) bt.  Dayal Opticals (5.5 pts.)

Play-off 4:

The A-Team  (10 pts.) bt. 24 Lions  (6  pts.).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.