‘The A-Team’ shines on Day-7 in Lloyd DGC League -

‘The A-Team’ shines on Day-7 in Lloyd DGC League

Share us on

 Khel Today Bureau

New Delhi: ‘The A Team’ Captained by leading professional Amandeep Johl, had a good outing winning 3 out of their 7 games and drawing 2 against team ‘Tee Birds’ to finish with 9 points today.  Their tournament tally stands at 29 which has seated them right atop their group table after Day 7 of the Lloyd Delhi Golf Club League – Powered by Vredestein Tyres’.

Team ‘Delhi Tigers’ won 6 of their 7 games against team ‘Eagles & Birdies’ to total 13 points and a total of 41.5 points, they lead their group and look certain to make the knock-out stages.  ‘Eagles & Birdies managed a total of 3 points today.

Team ‘Baale Golf’ won 4 out of their 7 games against team ‘MMG Coca-Cola’ to total 10 points for the day.  They top the group table with 32 point.   ‘MMG Coca-Cola’, who tallied 6.5 points today, also tally 32 points in that group but they have played all 4 of their games as against ‘Baale Golf’s 3 games.

‘Team Bajaj Foundation won 3 of their 7 games and drew 2 to tally 8 points for the day against ‘TEEM EDC’.  With a cumulative total of 16 points, ‘Bajaj Foundation’ are lying third in the group but they have played only two games.  Team ‘Athletic Drive’ with 31 points in three games and team ‘Christie’s Golf’ with 23 points in two games sit at position one and two in that group.

The League, being played at the historic par-72 Delhi Golf Club course, features 13 days of hard-fought golf and will conclude in a Grand Finale on October 22, 2022.

The tournament is being played on a “Four-ball better-ball Matchplay” Format.  The League will be played in two stages – a Round Robin stage followed by a Knock-out stage. During each playoff match between two teams, each team will field 7 pairs (14 players). One pair from each team will play against a pair from the other team in a “Four-ball better-ball” Matchplay format with all the players playing off 75% of their original handicaps. The teams will get points for their wins. The 20 teams have been divided into 4 groups. After the Round Robin stage, 2 teams from each group will qualify for the Knock-out stage starting with the Quarter-finals.  The Finals will be played on the 22nd of Oct 2022.

Some of the biggest names in the golfing world who have honed their skills at the Delhi Golf Club, are involved with the League at different levels, including three Arjuna Award winners namely Shiv Kapur, Nonita Lal Qureshi and Amit Luthra.  Additionally, stalwarts such as Gaurav Ghei – the first ever Indian golfer to qualify for the Open Championship ‘97; Vivek Bhandari – winner of the Honda-Siel PGA Championship ’97; Arjun Singh – winner of the Wills Masters ’98; Asian Tour regulars – Chiragh Kumar and Amandeep Johl; leading Ladies Tour professionals Mehar Atwal and Ayesha Kapur, top Coaches  Jasjit Singh and Ajai Gupta are involved in the Delhi Golf Club League 2022.

The 20 teams competing in the League are: ‘The A-Team’, ‘Sterling Swingers’, ‘Baale Golf’, Eagles & Birdies’, ‘Christie’s Golf’, ‘SwingKKings’, ‘Shiva Motocorp. Land Rover’, Bajaj Foundation’, Tee Birds’, The Pioneers’, Team Coca-Cola’ ’24 Secure Lions’, ‘TEEm EDC”, Athletic Drive’, ‘BMW-Deutsche Motoren’, ‘Delhi Tigers’, ‘Birdie Machine’, Ardee Par Excellence,  robo4me and B i Luxury, with the last three being new entrants into the field.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.