‘The A-Team’ showcase ‘A’ game to win Lloyd DGCL 2022 -

‘The A-Team’ showcase ‘A’ game to win Lloyd DGCL 2022

Share us on


The A-Team’ pose with the coveted ‘LLOYD DELHI GOLF CLUB LEAGUE 2022 (powered by Vredestein Tyres) trophy.


Khel Today Bureau

New Delhi:  In a neck-to-neck race for the title, ‘The A-Team’ aided by some top-drawer golf from Asian Games Gold Medalist Rishi Narain, beat ‘Baale Golf’ to the post to win the title at the 2022 Delhi Golf Club League – Powered by Vredestein Tyres’.

At a certain point, the matches were evenly balanced but Narain’s effort along with that of his team mates helped ‘The A-Team’ to 4 wins out of the 7 games.  ‘The A-Team’ tallied 10.5 points as opposed to ‘Baale Golf’s’ tally of 7 points. The ‘Baale Golf’ line-up too boasted of an Asian Games Gold Medalist in Amit Luthra but they could manage wins in only 3 games.

Rishi Narain unleashes a drive from the 1st Tee Box. 

In the match for the 3rd and 4th positions, team ‘BMW Deutsche-Motoren’ outplayed “Christie’s Golf’ to make their own the 3rd position with wins in 4 of their 7 matches.  ‘BMW Deutsche-Motoren’ tallied 9.5 points as against ‘Christie’s’ 6.5 points.

The League, was played at the historic par-72 Delhi Golf Club course, featuring 13 days of hard-fought golf and concluded in a Grand Finale this evening.

The tournament was  played on a “Four-ball better-ball Matchplay” Format.  The League was played in two stages – a Round Robin stage followed by a Knock-out stage. During each playoff match between two teams, each team fielded 7 pairs (14 players). One pair from each team played against a pair from the other team in a “Four-ball better-ball” Matchplay format with all the players playing off 75% of their original handicaps. The teams got points for their wins. The 20 teams were divided into 4 groups. After the Round Robin stage, 2 teams from each group qualified for the Knock-out stage starting with the Quarter-finals.

Some of the biggest names in the golfing world who have honed their skills at the Delhi Golf Club, were involved with the League at different levels, including three Arjuna Award winners namely Shiv Kapur, Nonita Lal Qureshi and Amit Luthra.  Additionally, stalwarts such as Gaurav Ghei – the first ever Indian golfer to qualify for the Open Championship ‘97; Vivek Bhandari – winner of the Honda-Siel PGA Championship ’97; Arjun Singh – winner of the Wills Masters ’98; Asian Tour regulars – Chiragh Kumar and Amandeep Johl; leading Ladies Tour professionals Mehar Atwal and Ayesha Kapur, top Coaches  Jasjit Singh and Ajai Gupta are involved in the Delhi Golf Club League 2022.

The 20 teams competed in the League are: ‘The A-Team’, ‘Sterling Swingers’, ‘Baale Golf’, Eagles & Birdies’, ‘Christie’s Golf’, ‘SwingKKings’, ‘Shiva Motocorp. Land Rover’, Bajaj Foundation’, Tee Birds’, The Pioneers’, Team Coca-Cola’ ’24 Secure Lions’, ‘TEEm EDC”, Athletic Drive’, ‘BMW-Deutsche Motoren’, ‘Delhi Tigers’, ‘Birdie Machine’, Ardee Par Excellence,  robo4me and B i Luxury, with the last three being new entrants into the field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.