Theegala rises to 10th at THE PLAYERS; Clark leads; many big names miss cut -
Sony Sports Network reignites an exciting cricket rivalry with the live telecast of India Tour of Sri Lanka. दिल्ली स्टेट शूटिंग चैंपियनशिप में 15 वर्षीय युवा निशानेबाज श्री शुक्ल की धूम. DURAND CUP JERSEY UNVEILED: SRINAGAR’S DOWNTOWN HEROES FC. Special Olympics Bharat Athletes return unbeaten with the prestigious Gothia Cup 2024. Vani Kapoor top Indian at T-20 in Dutch Ladies Open. Mood is upbeat as first teams arrive in the Olympic Village: Gagan Narang. Union Sports Minister Launches Second Phase of KIRTI Programme. Dr. Mansukh Mandaviya Stresses on Talent Development to Make India Sports Superpower. We need to identify and nurture young talent, and integrate them into Sports Ecosystem: Dr. Mansukh Mandaviya. Legends Intercontinental T20 unveils trophy ahead of inaugural season. “Vedanta Delhi Half Marathon” the world’s most prestigious Half Marathon is back with AaRangDeDilli. Twelve Students from KIIT-DU Qualify for Paris Olympics. The Founder of KIIT and KISS Dr Achyuta Samanta has announced Rs 7 lakh to each of the athletes. Suryakumar Yadav and Rohit Sharma will lead India squads in 3 T20Is & 3 ODIs in Sri Lanka.TOPS to finance HS Prannoy’s trainer during Paris Olympics, also clears multiple proposals for equipment of Paris-bound athletes. Khelo India Rising Talent Identification Project to get a fresh boost from Sports Minister Dr. Mansukh Mandaviya. Wave City’s flagship team ‘Wave Riders’ to participate in Kapil Dev’s Trinity Golf Champions League (TGCL) 2024. Dr. Deepa Malik Appointed as Representative for South Asia by Asian Paralympic Committee. Bengaluru to host second edition of Trinity Golf Champions League in September .वाईबीवाईएस और मॉडर्न स्कूल ने जीते दिल्ली स्टेट स्विमिंग में टीम खिताब। दिल्ली सब जूनियर व जूनियर स्विमिंग चैंपियनशिप का जोरदार आगाज ।Durand Cup Returns to Kokrajhar for the Second Consecutive Year. .UNIV Sportatech hosts India’s First Sports and Esports event Culminating in “BHARAT IN PARIS”. Dr. Mansukh Mandaviya Chaired High-Level Meeting to Review India’s Preparation for Paris Olympics 2024. Defending Champions Mohun Bagan Super Giant face Downtown Heroes FC of Kashmir in opener. SKF India and Special Olympics Bharat Gear Up for the Gothia Cup in Sweden. President of India unveils the Durand Cup trophies and Flags Off the Trophy Tour for the 133rd edition of the prestigious tournament. Gautam Gambhir appointed as Head Coach – Team India (Senior Men). I am honoured and excited to take on the role of Head Coach for Team India: Gambhir. India’s Para Athletes Ready to Shine at Paris Paralympics. BPCL PARTNERS WITH INDIAN OLYMPIC ASSOCIATION AS PRINCIPAL SPONSOR FROM PARIS 2024 TO LOS ANGELES 2028. Paris bound Indian athletes buoyant at Indian Olympic Association ceremonial send-off. Sports Minister Dr. Mansukh Mandaviya visits NIS Patiala and encourages Paris Olympic bound athletes. Sports Minister unveils new AFI logo and meets Olympics-bound athletes in Panchkula. Indian Men’s Hockey Team for Paris 2024 Olympics: Goalkeepers: 1.    Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran Defenders: 2.    Jarmanpreet Singh 3.    Amit Rohidas 4.    Harmanpreet Singh 5.    Sumit 6.    Sanjay Midfielders: 7.    Rajkumar Pal 8.    Shamsher Singh 9.    Manpreet Singh 10.   Hardik Singh 11.   Vivek Sagar Prasad Forwards: 12.   Abhishek 13.   Sukhjeet Singh 14.   Lalit Kumar Upadhyay 15.   Mandeep Singh 16.   Gurjant Singh Alternate Athletes: 17.   Nilakanta Sharma 18.   Jugraj Singh 19.   Krishan Bahadur Pathak. Indian cricket legend Kapil Dev takes over as President of Professional Golf Tour of India. Indian Poker Player Santhosh Suvarna makes history, winning his second World Series of Poker bracelet and INR 45+ crore. JSW Group Opens Exhibition in Paris to Commemorate 100 years of India at the Olympic Games. Ꮪhubman Gill to lead India in Zimbabwe. India will visit Harare in the first week of July to participate in a 5-match T20I series against the hosts. India’s squad for T20I series against Zimbabwe: Ꮪhubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande. Dronacharya Bhupender Dhawan’s student Ritesh Dogra creates history by winning the title of Best Lifter in the IPL European Powerlifting Championship 2024. 44th edition of ‘V.K. Pahuja Annual Swimming Statistical Bulletin’ released. Any T20 World Cup Match Can Change in an Instant Says India Legend and World Cup Ambassador Yuvraj Singh.

Theegala rises to 10th at THE PLAYERS;  Clark leads; many big names miss cut

Share us on

Sahith Theegala of the United States. 

Khel Today Bureau 

Ponte Vedra, US: Indian-American Sahith Theegala dropped one bogey against six birdies to card a 5-under 67 as he jumped up to 7-under and to Tied-10th, up from over T-37 at the PLAYERS Championship at TPC Sawgrass.

Theegala, who has come close to picking a win this season, is seven shots behind the leader, Wyndham Clark, the reigning US Open champion. Clark shot identical 65-65 to be 14-under and four ahead of Xander Schauffele (69) and Canadian Nick Taylor at 10-under at PGA TOUR’s flagship event.

England’s Matt Fitzpatrick and American Maverick McNealy share fourth place at 9-under while defending champion Scottie Scheffler, Canadian Corey Conners and course-record holder Tom Hoge are six shots off the pace at 8-under.

Scheffler had a scare in the morning when he needed ongoing physiotherapy treatment on a neck complaint during his round. Yet, the world No. 1 managed to post 69.

Chinese Taipei’s C.T. Pan feeling sore in his left wrist is making a bold run at THE PLAYERS Championship. The one-time PGA TOUR winner made a huge par save on his last hole at The Stadium Course to post a 4-under 68 for tied 10th place on 7-under.

Asia’s challenge was also being carried by Japan’s Hideki Matsuyama who fought back from a slow start for the second straight day and signed for a successive 69 to sit on 6-under in the US$25 million showpiece.

Korea’s Si Woo Kim, the 2017 PLAYERS champion, will enter the weekend on 3-under after a 71 while compatriot Sungjae Im shot a 72 to lie on 2-under.

World No. 5 Clark is one of the hottest golfers after winning three times in the span of 10 months, including February’s AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am. With a second successive 65 at TPC Sawgrass, he became the first player in THE PLAYERS history to open with two consecutive rounds of 65 or better.

Rory McIlroy hit his third water ball of the tournament at the par-4 12th hole and signed for a 1-over 73 and is now 6-under par going into the weekend, eight shots behind leader Clark.

Will Zalatoris (71-74) and Justin Thomas (73-75) missed the cut and were the biggest names to make an early exit.

Also heading home early are PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year Eric Cole (72-74), Farmers Insurance Open champion Matthieu Pavon (70-77) and The American Express champion Nick Dunlap (77-70).

Korea’s Byeong-Hun An, who entered the week ranked fifth in the FedExCup, shot 69-80 for a double-digit swing between the first and Michael Kim shot 68-80 to miss the cut.

Past PLAYERS champions Webb Simpson (2018) and Matt Kuchar (2012) also missed the cut.

Justin Rose was on the cut line when he came to the 17th and then hit two shots into the water and had a quadruple-bogey 7 to miss the cut.

Ryan Fox also missed the cut a day after making PLAYERS history. On Thursday he became the first player in PLAYERS history to make consecutive eagles – an eagle and an ace. He shot 69-76.

The second round was suspended at 7:30 p.m. ET due to darkness with two players left to complete the round and will resume at 7:50 a.m. Saturday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.