Dominant Indian Junior Women’s Team beat Korea 3-0 to reach Semi Finals -
ICC MEN’S T20 WORLD CUP 2022 PRIZE POT ANNOUNCED.Varun Parikh clinches maiden title of Kapil Dev – Grant Thornton Invitational 2022 presented by DLF.HARMANPREET KAUR LEADS INDIAN CHARGE IN MRF TYRES ICC WOMEN’S ODI PLAYER RANKINGS.FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023: Argentina-South Africa to open the show on January 13!.Leading Indian professionals excited to tee it up at inaugural Kapil Dev – Grant Thornton Invitational presented by DLF from Tuesday. It’ll be fun playing alongside Jyoti who I grew up watching and Yuvraj who has been in tremendous form of late: Gaganjeet Bhullar.INBL 5×5 Season-1: 6 Teams, 3 Rounds, 20 Cities, 9,000+ Players will fight for Prize Money of over Rs 50 lakhs from October 12, 2022 to January 15, 2023.पूर्व भारतीय हॉकी कप्तान दिलीप तिर्की बने हॉकी इंडिया के अध्यक्ष. 20 Teams, 400 Golfers,1 Mentor And 1 Coach Will Lock Horns During 336 Matches Over 13 Days In ‘LLOYD DGC LEAGUE 2022’ From September 29.MANDHANA MAKES HUGE GAINS IN MRF TYRES ICC WOMEN’S PLAYER RANKINGS. 126 golfers will ‘PUT’ for prize money of INR 1crore in Kapil Dev – Grant Thornton Invitational, presented by DLF from September 27 at Gurugram Sportspersons representing their respective Police forces will compete each other but tomorrow they will play for India, spectators should praise all of them: Anurag Singh Thakur. Sports Minister Anurag Singh Thakur inaugurated 7th All India Police Judo Cluster on Monday.

Dominant Indian Junior Women’s Team beat Korea 3-0 to reach Semi Finals

Share us on

Salima Tete-led India make the Semi Finals of the FIH Hockey Women Junior World Cup  for the first time since 2013

Khel Today Bureau

Potchefstroom (South Africa): Confident Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team march into the Semi Finals of the FIH Hockey Women Junior World Cup 2022 following a dominant 3-0 victory against Korea in the Quarter Finals on Friday. The last time the Indian Junior Women made the top four of the FIH Junior Women’s World Cup was in 2013 when they ended up on the podium with a Bronze medal.

In today’s match, Mumtaz Khan (11′), Lalrindiki (15′) and Sangita Kumari (41′) scored in India’s win while goalkeeper Bichu Devi Kharibam along with the defenders ensured they kept a clean sheet.

India, much like their previous matches, got off to a strong start creating space in Korea’s circle. A penalty corner in the 11th minute of the match proved crucial in putting pressure on their opponents when Salima Tete took the slap shot. A well-worked variation saw Mumtaz Khan find the perfect deflection to fetch India a fine 1-0 lead. In the following minutes, an attempt on goal by Deepika was put away by forward Lalrindiki who was poised in front of the goal mouth to push it past the Korean goalie Kim Eunji.

The rising stars from India continued to build on a good start as they frustrated the Korea defence with potent attacking formations. They played with speed and discipline, worked on a good structure to find scoring opportunities. Their third goal too was a result of good on-field communication, a brilliant assist by Beauty Dung Dung from the top of the circle, which was well converted by Sangita Kumari. Previously, both Mumtaz Khan, who was named Player of the Match, and Lalremsiami had created scoring opportunities but they could not quite make the finishing touch.

India began the last quarter with a clear intent to extend their lead of 3-0. Within the first 20 seconds of the quarter, an experienced Lalremsiami took a find shot on goal but couldn’t find the pocket. India’s attack continued to frustrate the Korean defenders who made errors, thus resulting in their first green card of the match in the 51st minute. The final few minutes saw India find an opportunity to take a 4-0 lead when Lalrindiki assisted Sangita who fired away to the post but the shot went wide. However, the dominance India showed with 28 circle penetrations and 15 shots on goal was enough to put them in the final four of the prestigious quadrennial event.

Next India will play the winner of the Quarter Final between Netherlands and South Africa.

On 10th April 2022, India will play the Semi Final at 1700 hrs IST.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.