Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team secures 12-0 win against Canada -
Any T20 World Cup Match Can Change in an Instant Says India Legend and World Cup Ambassador Yuvraj Singh. Khushi in search of 2nd career win on Hero WPG Tour, chased by Jasmine and Gaurika. CEAT INDIAN SUPERCROSS RACING LEAGUE (ISRL) ANNOUNCES SEASON 2 DATES AND EXPANDS CALENDAR. SportsBaazi records 100% revenue increase during IPL 2024 and 1.5x surge in engagement during the first week of T20 World Cup. ECB invites India Deaf Squad for the first ever Bilateral T 20 Deaf Series. India to host 2025 FIH Hockey Men’s Junior World Cup. 15-member Indian Rifle and Pistol team for Paris Olympics announced. ‘यमुना योद्धा’ के मालिक राहुल शर्मा का ऐलान: यूपी कबड्डी लीग के दौरान उनकी टीम की हर सफल रेड पर 100 पेड़ लगाएंगे। उत्तर प्रदेश कबड्डी लीग के पहले सीजन का आयोजन नोएडा इंडोर स्टेडियम में 11 से 25 जुलाई तक होगा। BCCI announces domestic fixtures for home season 2024-25. The season will commence with Duleep Trophy starting in Anantapur from 5th September followed by the Irani Cup and the Ranji Trophy, featuring the first five league matches. Doordarshan to telecast ICC Men’s T20 World Cup matches and Paris Olympics Games 2024 on DD Free Dish platform. हिंदुस्तान फुटबॉल क्लब बना डीएसए सीनियर डिवीजन लीग का चैंपियन । Battle of debutants as hosts USA take on arch-rivals Canada in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup opener. PokerBaazi unveils the first ever Baazi Millions tournament, a unique event where the top 25 rankers will bag a million each.

Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team secures 12-0 win against Canada

Share us on

FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup 2023

  •  Annu, Dipi Monika Toppo, Mumtaz Khan, Deepika Soreng, and Neelam netted goals for India
  • India will next lock horns with Germany in their second match of the tournament on 1st December at 01:00hrs IST.

Khel Today Bureau 

Santiago: The Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team made a resounding start to their FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup 2023 campaign by securing a commanding 12-0 victory against Canada in their opening match of the tournament held in Santiago, Chile, on Wednesday.

Annu (4’, 6′, 39’), Dipi Monika Toppo (21’), Mumtaz Khan (26’, 41’, 54’, 60’), Deepika Soreng (34’, 50’, 54’), and Neelam (45’) were the goalscorers for India.

India began the match with an attacking approach, consistently pressuring Canada and swiftly securing an early advantage as Annu (4’, 6′) scored two early goals through penalty corners. Despite taking a two-goal lead, India persisted in their aggressive style, maintaining pressure on Canada, however, they were unable to find more goals in the opening quarter as it ended 2-0 in their favour.

The momentum from the first quarter carried into the second for India, which sustained their dominance. They maintained possession, consistently penetrating the circle, resulting in Dipi Monika Toppo (21′) and Mumtaz Khan (26′) netting a field goal each, further extending India’s lead. In the meantime, Canada won a penalty corner but they were unable to make the most of it. As the second quarter concluded, the Indian team maintained a commanding 4-0 lead.

Despite having a healthy lead, the Indian team showed no signs of slowing down in the third quarter and continued to dominate the proceedings with Deepika Soreng (34′) converting a penalty corner, following which Annu (39′) completed her hat-trick, while Mumtaz Khan (41′) scored her second goal of the match. Also, Neelam (45′) smashed home her shot from a penalty corner to make it 8-0 for India by the end of the penultimate quarter.

The Indian team’s hunger for goals persisted into the fourth quarter, resulting in strikes by Deepika Soreng (50′, 54′) and Mumtaz Khan (54′, 60’) which not only saw both players complete their hat-tricks but also India winning the game 12-0.

India will next lock horns with Germany in their second match of the tournament on 1st December at 01:00hrs IST.

The matches will be broadcast on Viacom Sports 18 – 3 and Sports 18 – 1 HD, as well as live-streamed on JioCinema.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.