Bhavesh Shekhawat wins in Kumar Surendra Singh Memorial -

Bhavesh Shekhawat wins in Kumar Surendra Singh Memorial

Share us on

Anantjeet, Karttiki ahead in Skeet trials


(L-R): Udhayveer Sidhu, Bhavesh Shekhawat & Arpit Goel at the M.P.State Shooting Academy range on Monday, June 13, 2023.

Khel Today Bureau 

New Delhi/Bhopal: Rajasthan’s Bhavesh Shekhawat won the men’s 25m Rapid Fire Pistol (RFP) event, at the on-going 21st Kumar Surendra Singh Memorial (KSSM) Shooting Championship (Pistol), being held at the M.P. State Shooting Academy ranges in Bhopal. The India international shooter had to get into a shoot-off twice with second placed Udhayveer Sidhu of Punjab, after both had tied with 26-hits in the 40-shot final. Both Bhavesh and Udhayveer got four-hits in the first shoot-off series, before the former shot four yet again in the second series to claim the title, as the Punjab lad managed three. Delhi’s Arpit Goel won bronze in the Olympic event with a score of 21.

Bhavesh had earlier also topped the qualification round with a solid 584, which equalled the meet record, with Udhayveer way behind in second with 576. It is to be noted that scores of the KSSM are taken into account for national team selection and with the world championships and Asian Games coming up, Bhavesh would be pleased with his effort. Besides the three medallists, Mitesh Manilal Gohil of Gujarat, the Navy’s Rajat Yadav and the Army’s Neeraj Kumar, also made the top six. 


Sahil Dudhane of Maharashtra won the junior men’s RFP with a score of 28 in the final. Udhayveer was second again, this time with 25 hits while state-mate Jagvijay Partap Singh Sekhon was third.

Neeraj, Amrinder Singh and Ranjith KM also won the RFP team gold for their Army Marksmanship Unit, with a total of 1692, five points better than silver-winning CISF’s 1687.

Anantjeet Singh Naruka (file pic)

Rajasthan all the way at M.P. State Shooting Academy

In what was quite a remarkable day for Rajasthan Shooters as besides Bhavesh’s feat, Anantjeet Singh Naruka and Karttiki Singh Shaktawat, also led on day one of the Skeet competitions, being held at the same venue as part of the 4th Shotgun National Selection Trials. Anantjeet shot a three-round score of 72, to be ahead of Atul Singh Rajawat on countback in Men’s Skeet. In the Women’s Skeet, Karttiki also had the exact same result, this time over India number one Ganemat Sekhon of Punjab.

Gujarat’s Zahra Mufaddal Deesawala and the host state’s Atul Singh Rajawat were leading the junior women’s and men’s Skeet with scores of 70 and 72 respectively.

The Skeet Shooters come back on Tuesday for their final two rounds of qualification, before the top six move to the final.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.