Gurgaon Sapphires beat Paramount Proec Tigers to win fourth season of Pro Tennis League -
Any T20 World Cup Match Can Change in an Instant Says India Legend and World Cup Ambassador Yuvraj Singh. Khushi in search of 2nd career win on Hero WPG Tour, chased by Jasmine and Gaurika. CEAT INDIAN SUPERCROSS RACING LEAGUE (ISRL) ANNOUNCES SEASON 2 DATES AND EXPANDS CALENDAR. SportsBaazi records 100% revenue increase during IPL 2024 and 1.5x surge in engagement during the first week of T20 World Cup. ECB invites India Deaf Squad for the first ever Bilateral T 20 Deaf Series. India to host 2025 FIH Hockey Men’s Junior World Cup. 15-member Indian Rifle and Pistol team for Paris Olympics announced. ‘यमुना योद्धा’ के मालिक राहुल शर्मा का ऐलान: यूपी कबड्डी लीग के दौरान उनकी टीम की हर सफल रेड पर 100 पेड़ लगाएंगे। उत्तर प्रदेश कबड्डी लीग के पहले सीजन का आयोजन नोएडा इंडोर स्टेडियम में 11 से 25 जुलाई तक होगा। BCCI announces domestic fixtures for home season 2024-25. The season will commence with Duleep Trophy starting in Anantapur from 5th September followed by the Irani Cup and the Ranji Trophy, featuring the first five league matches. Doordarshan to telecast ICC Men’s T20 World Cup matches and Paris Olympics Games 2024 on DD Free Dish platform. हिंदुस्तान फुटबॉल क्लब बना डीएसए सीनियर डिवीजन लीग का चैंपियन । Battle of debutants as hosts USA take on arch-rivals Canada in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup opener. PokerBaazi unveils the first ever Baazi Millions tournament, a unique event where the top 25 rankers will bag a million each.

Gurgaon Sapphires beat Paramount Proec Tigers to win fourth season of Pro Tennis League

Share us on

Gurgaon Sapphires team and owner celebrating with the Champions Trophy.

Gurgaon Sapphires defeat Meerut Stag Babolat Yoddhas and Paramount Proec Tigers in the final leg to win fourth season of Pro Tennis League

Gurgaon Sapphires team players.

Khel Today Bureau

New Delhi: Gurgaon Sapphires are crowned champions of the fourth edition of the Pro Tennis League (PTL)  held at the RK Khanna Stadium on Sunday night. With the win, the Sapphires joined Meerut Stag Babolat Yoddhas, Proveri Supersmashers and Team Radiant in lifting the trophy.

Gurgaon Sapphires beat Paramount Proec Tigers 93-72 in the final, needing just six points in the decisive men’s doubles contest. Earlier, they had beaten Meerut Stag Babolat Yoddhas, 93-82, in the semi-final. Meanwhile, Paramount Proec Tigers had found themselves in the summit clash at the expense of the DMG Delhi Crusaders by an agonising single point (92-93).

Gurgaon Sapphires, who had made the second leg of the competition by just two points, were aware of the importance of making every shot count. And it was the case in the title clash as well.

Tunisia’s Malek Jaziri made his experience at the top level count in beating Karan Singh in the men’s singles match 19-11. And then, the combination of Faisal Qamar and Nitin K Sinha were far too good for Vishnu Vardhan and Shivang Bhatnagar to clinch the match 7-13.

It meant Sapphires needed all of six points in the last match, a men’s doubles, to get their hands on the trophy. Team of Malek Jaziri and VM Ranjeet go there with sheer ease as Vishnu Vardhan and Karan Singh desperately tried to play catch up.

But before them, the women’s players for Sapphires — Mahika Khanna (next gen), Sharmada Balu (women’s singles) and Sharmada Balu and Mahika Khanna (women’s doubles) — triumphed 8-7, 13-7 and 9-6 to put the Sapphires in a dominant position.

“Happy to win the PTL, to have the team to get the job done. Everyone in the team played their part. Great job by Adi (Aditya Khanna) and Ashish (Khanna) for organising this tournament and I’m happy to be here in India. Sharmada (Balu) played very well today but everyone did, that’s why we won,” said Jaziri after the match.

Paramount Proec Tigers co-owner Manav Modi recognised the importance of the women’s players among the Gurgaon Sapphires that swung the way of the final. “It was incredible. First year for this team and the fact that we’ve reached this year, is an incredible achievement. The semi-final was a nailbiter and it was incredible. In the final, we got outplayed by the Sapphires and they did a great job. Their women’s team was very strong and that changed the game for them,” he said.

“If you see the format, the next gen players get the exposure at the top level and that is a chance for them to showcase their talent,” he added on the importance of the league.

These players were given best player awards in various categories: Sahira Singh, Zeeshan Ali, Shivank Bhatnagar, Karan Singh, Sharmada Balu, Sidharth Rawat, Malek Jaziri and Vishnu Vardhan.

About Pro Tennis League:
Pro Tennis League is one of India’s most popular sports leagues. Founded in 2018, the biggest tennis league in India has taken place each year in India’s capital New Delhi every winter. Apart from featuring some of the top players in the country, PTL also provides opportunities to the junior and upcoming players to play and showcase their talent and learn from the experienced players.


Final: Gurgaon Sapphires bt Paramount Proec Tigers 93-71 (VM Ranjeet lost to Sidharth Rawat 9-11; Nitin Kumar Sinha & Faisal Qamar drew with Sidharth Rawat & Shivank Bhatnagar 10-10; Mahika Khanna bt Sahira Singh 8-7; Sharmada Balu bt Farahat Aleen Qamar 13-7; Sharmada & Makhika bt Aleen & Sahira 9-6; Sharmada & Dilip Mohanti lost to Zeeshan Ali & Aleen 6-9; Malek Jaziri bt Karan Singh 19-11; Nitin Sinha & Faisal bt Vishnu Vardhan & Shivank Bhatnagar 13-7; Jaziri & Ranjeet bt Vishnu & Karan 6-3).

Semifinals: Paramount Proec Tigers bt DMG Delhi Crusaders 93-92.

Gurgaon Sapphires bt Stag Babolat Yoddhas 83-72.

Sports Journalist of ‘The Hindu’ Kamesh Srinivasan was honoured by the organizers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.