Indian Men’s Cricket Team for the Blind to participate in the IBSA World Games, Birmingham 2023 -

Indian Men’s Cricket Team for the Blind to participate in the IBSA World Games, Birmingham 2023 

Share us on

Khel Today Bureau 

Bengaluru: Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI) announced a strong 17 member men’s squad that will represent the country in the upcoming International Blind Sports Federation (IBSA) World Games 2023, Birmingham. The games are scheduled to be held from August 18th – 27th and blind cricket has been included in the World Games for the very first time. CABI had earlier announced the women’s team for the tournament. The teams are expected to attend a training camp at Bengaluru.

The team was selected based on the performances during the selection trials that was held in Bengaluru last month. The team comprises of 6 players each from B1 and B2 categories while there are 5 players from B3 category. The men’s team had recently won the T20 Cricket World Cup for the Blind.

Speaking on the participation of the national team in the World Games, Dr. Mahantesh G. Kivadasannavar, President, CABI said, “I am happy to see the new talent being identified and nurtured in the last few years by the respective State Boards and CABI. There are few players who have made a comeback to the Indian Team and this reminds that the key to success is only the Hard work and Determination. I am confident that the players will give their best and learn from the available exposure during the world Games”. 

“This is the new initiative from IBSA and CABI acknowledges the inclusion of Cricket for the Blind at highest level. We have selected the best to represent the country and we are sure IBSA World Games is going to help our players in promoting cricket for the blind” said Mr E John David, General Secretary and Chairman Selection Committee CABI. 

Indian Men’s Squad for IBSA World Games 2023

  1. Basappa Waddagol – B1 – Karnataka
  2. Mohammed Jafar Iqbal – B1 – Odisha
  3. Maharaja Sivasubramanian – B1 – Tamil Nadu
  4. Omprakash Pal – B1 – Madhya Pradesh
  5. Nareshbhai Balubhai Tumda – B1 – Gujarat
  6. Nilesh Yadav – B1 – Delhi
  7. Ajaykumar Reddy Illuri – B2 – Andhra Pradesh
  8. Venkateswara Rao Dunna – B2 – Andhra Pradesh
  9. Pankaj Bhue – B2 – Odisha
  10. Rambir Singh – B2 – Haryana
  11. Nakula Badanayak – B2 – Odisha
  12. Irfan Diwan – B2 – Delhi
  13. Prakasha Jayaramaiah – B3 – Karnataka
  14. Sunil Ramesh – B3 – Karnataka
  15. Deepak Malik – B3 – Haryana
  16. Durga Rao Tompaki – B3 – Andhra Pradesh
  17. Ravi Amiti – B3 – Andhra Pradesh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.