St. Patrick’s High School, Jharkhand defend their Junior (U 17) Girls Subroto Cup title -
LIGHTS, ACTION, LE PANGA: HISTORIC PRO KABADDI LEAGUE SEASON 10 KICKS OFF IN GRAND STYLE ON A CRUISE. Indian Team goes down 3-4 against Germany in a thrilling game at the FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup 2023. Eight Indian Boxers confirm medals as they cruise into the semifinals at IBA Junior World Boxing Championships 2023. Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul and Suryakumar will lead In Test, ODI and T20I formats. India’s squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna. India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar. India’s squad for 3 ODIs: KL Rahul (C)(wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.. Local lad Sunhit Bishnoi holds the clubhouse lead on day two of Kapil Dev Grant Thornton Invitational 2023. 20 TEAMS FINALIZED FOR ICC MEN’S T20 WORLD CUP 2024 AS UGANDA QUALIFY FOR THE FIRST TIME. महिला क्रिकेट की कहानी नए सिरे से लिखने वाली एक ऐतिहासिक डॉक्यूमेंट्री बनाने के लिए यूपी वॉरियर्स ने वैश्विक दूरदर्शी रचनात्मक लोगों के साथ हाथ मिलाया। Indian Olympic Association to conduct a seminar in coordination with the National Anti-Doping Agency prior to the 2024 Paris Olympic Games. Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team secures 12-0 win against Canada. BCCI announces extension of contract for Head Coach Rahul Dravid. Combined power of cricket and golf: Kapil Dev-Grant Thornton Invitational 2023 hits the fairways. Focus of National Games is to attract young talent: PT Usha. It is because of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision, Khelo India has become a movement: Anurag Thakur. Khelo India Para Games Logo, Mascot, Anthem and Jersey launched. Seher wins 16th and final leg of Hero WPGT, as Sneha wins Order of Merit. Gauri Monga rules the greens at the 13th DGC Ladies Amateur Open Golf Championship 2023. Delhi will host first-ever Khelo India Para Games from 10 to 17 December . MARLON SAMUELS BANNED FOR SIX YEARS UNDER ANTI-CORRUPTION CODE. Sneha and Neha in a tight battle despite a rainy start in the 16th Leg of Hero WPGT. National Billiards & Snooker Championships gets underway in Chennai. DGC Ladies Amateur Open Golf Championship 2023, presented by USHA, begins today.

St. Patrick’s High School, Jharkhand defend their Junior (U 17) Girls Subroto Cup title

Share us on

Khel Today Bureau 

New Delhi: St. Patrick’s High School, Gumla, Jharkhand defended their title in the 62nd Subroto Cup Junior (U 17) Girls Inter School International Football Tournament defeating G.S.S.S Alakhpura, Bhiwani, Haryana 3-0 in an exciting final played here at the Dr.B.R Ambedkar Stadium. Anita Dungdung scored twice while Shaulina Dang scored the third for the winners. Air Marshal A.P Singh PVSM, AVSM, Vice Chief of the Air Staff, who had kindly consented to be the Chief Guest, presented the trophy to the winning team.

Speaking on the occasion, Air Marshal A.P Singh PVSM, AVSM, Vice Chief of the Air Staff said, “The tournament is an ideal arena for the children to enhance their playing skills and to interact with each other culturally and socially. This sporting event is conducted every year with a vision to inculcate sportsman spirit and provide an incredible opportunity to the school children across the country to showcase their talent at such a national platform and more importantly as we saw today, to the girls of the country. I congratulate all the participating teams, especially the finalists for such an exciting final for everyone”.

There were several awards including cash prizes, given out at the end of the final. The Fair Play Trophy and cheque of Rs.50,000 was presented to Vasant Valley School, New Delhi by W/O Late HFO V.N Singh. Suraj Muni of St. Patrick’s High School, Jharkhand was awarded the Safe Hand Trophy for the best goalkeeper and a cheque of Rs.25,000. The Best Coach cheque of Rs. 25,000 was awarded to Beena Kerketa of St. Patrick’s High School, Jharkhand. G.S.S.S Alakhpura, Bhiwani, Haryana was awarded a cheque of Rs.40,000 for the Best School. Anita Dungdung of St. Patrick’s High School, Jharkhand was awarded the Best Player Trophy and a cheque of Rs.40,000.

The Runner’s Up of the tournament received Rs. 2,00,000 along with the runners up trophy, which was presented by Air Marshal P.K Ghosh, Director General (Administration). The Winners of the Subroto Cup were presented the Winner’s Trophy by the Chief Guest along with a cheque of Rs. 3,50,000.

St. Patrick’s High School, Gumla, Jharkhand – 3

G.S.S.S Alakhpura, Bhiwani, Haryana – 0

St. Patrick’s shocked the Haryana defence within seconds of the start of the match, with Anita Dungdung finding the early goal to give a perfect start for the defending champions. They doubled the lead minutes later through Shaulina Dang. Anita’s shot was saved by Haryana goalkeeper Manisha, but the ball fell kindly for Shaulina who calmly finished for the second goal. The school from Jharkhand were dominating the possession and were looking the better side, as G.S.S.S Haryana found it difficult to find any footing in the match. St. Patrick’s scored their third goal to give them a comfortable position in the match. Riya Verma found Anita in the right wing through one of her angled balls. Anita’s left footer found the goal, giving the Haryana keeper no chances. Alpha Kandulna could have added a fourth before half time but her effort, dribbling past three defenders, came back off the crossbar.

Haryana started the second half better moving the ball forward with better precision. They came close to scoring from a corner, but Rishika’s effort came back off the crossbar. There were no clear cut chances for either teams as Jharkhand maintained possession and ensured that the title will be back in their school for one more year.

A total of 32 teams including a team from Bangladesh participated in the Junior Girls (U 17) category of this edition’s Subroto Cup. For the first time in the girl’s category, a team from Jammu and Kashmir, DNRM G.G.H.S.S Poonch participated in the tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.