‘Christie’s Golf’ oust ‘Tee Birds’ to book semi-final berth -

‘Christie’s Golf’ oust ‘Tee Birds’ to book semi-final berth

Share us on


Bikram Singh of ‘Christie’s Golf‘ in action in the Quarter-Finals of the LLOYD Delhi Golf Club League – Powered by RADICO. 

Khel Today Bureau 

New Delhi: ‘Christie’s Golf’ played red-hot golf keeping with their team colour, to put paid to ‘Tee Birds’ hopes of progressing ahead of the quarter-finals of the ‘Lloyd Delhi Golf Club League – Powered by Radico’.  ‘Christie’s Golf’ tallied 11 points as against ‘Tee Birds’ 4.5 points today.

‘Christie’s Golf’ took an early advantage with wins in their first two matches.  ‘Tee Birds’ pulled back with a win in the third match but ‘Christie’s Golf’ went two-up again with a win in the fourth.  The fifth match was won by ‘Tee Birds’ with ‘Christie’s Golf’ annexing the sixth match to stay two-up with one match to play.  The formidable duo of Bikram Singh and Vikramjit Singh of ‘Christie’s Golf’ brought all their skills into play to beat the duo of Gagan Verma and Gaurav Karnik in the seventh match, to take their team into the semi-finals.

In the second Quarter-Final clash, ‘Sterling Swingers’ braved a spirited fight from league debutants ‘Dayal Opticals’ to book a semi-final berth with 8.5 points as against ‘Dayal Opticals’ 6.5 points. ‘Dayal Opticals’ started off on the right note, winning the opening match. However, ‘Sterling Swingers’ won the  next three matches on the trot and post a tied fifth match, sat pretty at two matches up with two to play.  A win for ‘Dayal Opticals’ in the sixth match took the two teams to an exciting seventh and final match.  VK Topa of ‘Dayal Opticals’ missed a nett eagle by millimeters on the 18th green which denied his team the two points that would have helped them tie with ‘Sterling Swingers.   This helped ‘Sterling Swingers’ slip into the semi-finals.

In the third Quarter-Final of the day, ‘Dutsche Motoren’ ran riot over ‘Bliss Golfers; beating them by a margin of 13.5 points to 2 points. ‘Deutsche Motoren’ won the first match but ‘Bliss Golfers’ came back to level scores with a win in the second match.  Thereafter, ‘Deutsche Motoren’   went on a roll winning all of the remaining five matches to cruise into the Semi-Finals.

In the fourth Quarter-Final encounter between ‘The Pioneers’ and ‘Bajaj Foundation’, ‘The Pioneers’ win the first three matches before ‘Bajaj Foundation’ pulled one back with a win in the fourth match.  Another win in the fifth match put ‘The Pioneer’ in an unassailable position and despite ‘Bajaj Foundation winning the sixth match, ‘The Pioneer’ wrapped up a place in the Semi-Finals with a win in the seventh and final match.  ‘The Pioneer’ finished with a tally of 11.5 points as against ‘Bajaj Foundation’s’ total of 4.5 points.

The tournament is being played on a ‘Four-ball better-ball Matchplay’ Format.  The League is being played in two stages – a Round Robin stage followed by a Knock-out stage. During each playoff match between two teams, each team can field 7 pairs (14 players). One pair from each team will play against a pair from the other team in a “Four-ball better-ball” Matchplay format with all the players playing off 75% of their original handicaps. The teams will get points for their wins. The 22 teams have been divided into 4 groups. After the Round Robin stage, 2 teams from each group will qualify for the Knock-out stage starting with the Quarter-finals.  The Finals will be played on November 4, 2023.


Play-off 1:

Christie’s Golf (11  pts.) bt. Tee Birds (4.5 pts.)

Play-off 2:

Sterling Swingers  (8.5 pts.) bt. Dayal Opticals (6.5  pts)

Play-off 3:

Deutsche Motoren (13.5 pts) bt. Bliss Golfers (2 pts.).

Play-off 4:

The Pioneers (11.5 pts) bt. Bajaj Foundation (4.5 pts.).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.