TOI Presents the 6th Edition of the Times of India Sports Awards: Grand Jury Meet Finalizes Winners -
SKF India and Special Olympics Bharat Gear Up for the Gothia Cup in Sweden. President of India unveils the Durand Cup trophies and Flags Off the Trophy Tour for the 133rd edition of the prestigious tournament. Gautam Gambhir appointed as Head Coach – Team India (Senior Men). I am honoured and excited to take on the role of Head Coach for Team India: Gambhir. India’s Para Athletes Ready to Shine at Paris Paralympics. BPCL PARTNERS WITH INDIAN OLYMPIC ASSOCIATION AS PRINCIPAL SPONSOR FROM PARIS 2024 TO LOS ANGELES 2028. Paris bound Indian athletes buoyant at Indian Olympic Association ceremonial send-off. Sports Minister Dr. Mansukh Mandaviya visits NIS Patiala and encourages Paris Olympic bound athletes. Sports Minister unveils new AFI logo and meets Olympics-bound athletes in Panchkula. Indian Men’s Hockey Team for Paris 2024 Olympics: Goalkeepers: 1.    Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran Defenders: 2.    Jarmanpreet Singh 3.    Amit Rohidas 4.    Harmanpreet Singh 5.    Sumit 6.    Sanjay Midfielders: 7.    Rajkumar Pal 8.    Shamsher Singh 9.    Manpreet Singh 10.   Hardik Singh 11.   Vivek Sagar Prasad Forwards: 12.   Abhishek 13.   Sukhjeet Singh 14.   Lalit Kumar Upadhyay 15.   Mandeep Singh 16.   Gurjant Singh Alternate Athletes: 17.   Nilakanta Sharma 18.   Jugraj Singh 19.   Krishan Bahadur Pathak. Indian cricket legend Kapil Dev takes over as President of Professional Golf Tour of India. Indian Poker Player Santhosh Suvarna makes history, winning his second World Series of Poker bracelet and INR 45+ crore. JSW Group Opens Exhibition in Paris to Commemorate 100 years of India at the Olympic Games. Ꮪhubman Gill to lead India in Zimbabwe. India will visit Harare in the first week of July to participate in a 5-match T20I series against the hosts. India’s squad for T20I series against Zimbabwe: Ꮪhubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande. Dronacharya Bhupender Dhawan’s student Ritesh Dogra creates history by winning the title of Best Lifter in the IPL European Powerlifting Championship 2024. 44th edition of ‘V.K. Pahuja Annual Swimming Statistical Bulletin’ released. Any T20 World Cup Match Can Change in an Instant Says India Legend and World Cup Ambassador Yuvraj Singh.

TOI Presents the 6th Edition of the Times of India Sports Awards: Grand Jury Meet Finalizes Winners

Share us on
Khel Today Bureau 

Lucknow: Recognizing the unwavering commitment and outstanding achievements of Indian athletes, The Times of India announces the return of the 6th edition of its prestigious event, the TOI Sports Awards (TOISA). Set against the regal backdrop of Lucknow, the City of Nawabs, the awards ceremony will take place on February 23, 2024, in the presence of esteemed personalities from the realms of Indian sports.

In collaboration with the Uttar Pradesh government, TOI unveiled this edition, reinforcing its dedication to honoring sporting excellence. Themed #MoreSweatMoreGlory for the second consecutive year, TOISA pays homage to the relentless spirit of athletes and para-athletes who illuminated the sports landscape in 2023. Beyond recognising the standout figures of Indian sports, TOISA remains committed to nurturing the future generation of athletes, inspiring countless youngsters to pursue their dreams.

Speaking about the significance of TOISA 2023, Prasad Sanyal, Business Head, Times Internet, stated, “Since its inception, TOISA has been steadfast in acknowledging the remarkable talent of both emerging and seasoned athletes. This year, we are excited to present another edition of the awards, featuring diverse categories and an esteemed jury panel. Our aim is to celebrate the pinnacle of Indian sports and para-sports at this year’s TOISA.”

With over 20 award categories, last year’s nominees included a mix of rising and established stars in Indian and para-sports. A distinguished jury of legendary Indian sports personalities decided the winners, including Paralympic champion and Padma Shri Awardee Deepa Malik, Olympic-winning weightlifter Karnam Malleswari, and hockey star Zafar Iqbal. They were joined by prominent figures such as long jump star and Vice-President of the Athletics Federation of India, Anju Bobby George, badminton coach and two-time Padma Awardee Pullela Gopichand, Olympic-winning wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt, and Vice-President of the IOA & Olympic-winning shooter Gagan Narang. The jury was chaired by Adille Sumariwalla, President of the Athletics Federation of India and Vice-President of the IAAF.

The jury meeting, held in Delhi last week, marked a rigorous selection process considering various parameters to determine the winners. The awards will be presented during a grand ceremony scheduled later this month in Lucknow, promising an evening that celebrates the zenith of sporting achievements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.